pulled in two -SELECT Art Fair, May 13th-17th, NYC

the nurse men

the nurse men

Pulled in two

He called me and my friend Rebecca to the fence that enclosed the playground.  I was eight and he seemed really old to me.  He smiled and winked, opened his hand and said, Want some Tootsie Rolls?  I thought of my lunch that I had made for myself, a heel of bread folded in half with butter and a wilted pickle.  I eyed the Tootsie Rolls, thinking how I loved the mild, slightly chewy chocolate flavor.  Rebecca ran away,  and hesitating, I grabbed the candy and ran back to her as I stashed one of the pieces into my pocket.

”It’s poisoned!”  she yelled at me.  Shamed by her certainty I threw away the piece in my hand.  The rest of the day, I fidgeted in class as I fondled the Tootsie’s outside waxy paper, while twisting and untwisting the ends I imagined the chocolate on my tongue and my stomach grumbled it’s inclination.     Running home from school, I pictured my death by poison and  my parent crying at my funeral.  I let myself into our house and stood in the quiet doorway,  I unwrapped the Tootsie Roll, examined it and pulled it in two.

Auriga charioteer in search of Hippodamia

Auriga charioteer in search of Hippodamia

I’m excited to be exhibiting at Select Art Fair this year, May 13 -17th, located at Center 548 (DIA Building) in Chelsea,  New York City.    

Star of Celestial Meadows 2014;Ink, Vinyl Paint, Watercolor, Pigment on Paper;12 x 8

Star of Celestial Meadows

Marfark  2014;ink,vinyl paint, watercolor, pigment on paper;

Marfark

 Margaret Withers, if not winter, no pain

if not winter, no pain

spangled is the earth with her crowns

spangled is the earth with her crowns

About Margaret Withers

Margaret Withers’ has shown her artwork in group and solo shows in New York City and nationwide, and internationally in Brussels, Australia, Berlin, China, Vienna and Russia. She has also exhibited at The Drawing Center in New York City, Monmouth Museum in New Jersey, MarinMOCA in California and Attleboro Museum in Massachusetts. Her art and art mashups have been featured in multiple journals including the New England Review, Alexandria Quarterly and the Library as Incubator Project. Her paintings range from the abstract to surreal, to expressionism and landscapes, to investigations of the culture and ideas surrounding ‘home’, communication, machinery, monsters and translation. Her work is included in numerous private and corporate collections, including Truninger AG in Zurich, Switzerland. She is represented by Arcilesi | Homberg Gallery in New York City, William Baczek Fine Art in Northampton, MA and C Emerson Fine Art in Tampa Florida. She lives and paints in Manhattan, New York.
This entry was posted in art fair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

