La Bellone Fait Le Mur! Opening Dec. 18th

A woman reclining in a field of grass falls asleep while reading The Clouds by Aristophanes. She dreams a theater, a stage and actors who speak a dialogue in a myriad of languages as they perform an unfamiliar ancient play that reflects a modern sensibility of disquiet and humor.

Five paintings that represent scenes from the play, and the transliterations of the dream, will be exhibited at  LA BELLONE FAIT LE MUR ! – TRÉSOR CACHÉ, in Brussels, Belgium, Opening Party Dec. 18th at 18:30.  Exhibition open Dec18- Jan 3rd.  Curated by Barbara Coeckelberghs,  Yamina El Atlassi and Olivier Goldstein.

This is the graphic representation of the mapping of the dream.

I fell asleep in a field reading Aristophanes’ The Clouds – I was walking toward the Chorus of Clouds while hiding my mouth in the mirror and fleetingly, across this mouth I saw the real me.  But then, Unjust Argument who is my foil, turned my teeth into the bars of a jail cell while Just Argument made a prisoner of my tongue, so that only my eyes saw the war-chariots guarding the house where the nurse men mumbled for more power.  Yet, unaware, the hero, my mind, was sluicing and panning for ore with a large rocker box, searching for flecks of gold.

Transliterated Version
I went to choir clouds, while hiding his face in the mirror and volatile, testified at the mouth of the real me.  But then the argument is not fair that my film, shot in bars with dental inmates and jail cell arguments of only my tongue, so that my eyes saw only tanks guarding the house where the men muttered nurses for more power . However, ignoring the hero, in my opinion was very mineral sweeping and washing, with a big flip-flop, looking for gold points.

 Click here to see the Google translated transliteration in each language.

Scene One - Walking Toward The Chorus Of Clouds

Scene One – Walking Toward The Chorus Of Clouds

Scene Two Unjust Argument and Just Argument panning for ore

Scene Two
Unjust Argument and Just Argument panning for ore

Scene Three only my eyes see what my mouth is locked out from

Scene Three
only my eyes see what my mouth is locked out from

Scene Four the nurse men

Scene Four
the nurse men

Scene Five The Hero with the rocker box

Scene Five – The Hero with the rocker box

About Margaret Withers

Margaret Withers’ has shown her artwork in group and solo shows in New York City and nationwide, and internationally in Brussels, Australia, Berlin, China, Vienna and Russia. She has also exhibited at The Drawing Center in New York City, Monmouth Museum in New Jersey, MarinMOCA in California and Attleboro Museum in Massachusetts. Her art and art mashups have been featured in multiple journals including the New England Review, Alexandria Quarterly and the Library as Incubator Project. Her paintings range from the abstract to surreal, to expressionism and landscapes, to investigations of the culture and ideas surrounding ‘home’, communication, machinery, monsters and translation. Her work is included in numerous private and corporate collections, including Truninger AG in Zurich, Switzerland. She is represented by Arcilesi | Homberg Gallery in New York City, William Baczek Fine Art in Northampton, MA and C Emerson Fine Art in Tampa Florida. She lives and paints in Manhattan, New York.
This entry was posted in free event, gallery shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

